The Gods Below

Coming Soon

Contributors

By Andrea Stewart

Formats and Prices

Price

$30.00

Price

$39.00 CAD

The Gods Below begins a sweeping epic from fantasy’s newest master world-smith Andrea Stewart, a story of magic, betrayal, love, and loyalty, where two sisters will clash on opposite sides of a war against the gods.

A divine war shattered the world leaving humanity in ruins. Desperate for hope, they struck a deal with the devious god Kluehnn: He would restore the world to its former glory, but at a price so steep it would keep the mortals indebted to him for eternity. And, as each land was transformed, so too were its people changed into strange new forms – if they survived at all.

Hakara is not willing to pay such a price. Desperate to protect herself, and her sister Rasha, she flees her homeland for the safety of a neighboring kingdom. But when tragedy separates them, Hakara is forced to abandon her beloved sister to an unknown fate.

Alone and desperate for answers on the wrong side of the world, Hakara discovers she can channel the magic from the mysterious gems they are forced to mine for Kluehnn. With that discovery comes another: her sister is alive, and only the rebels plotting to destroy the God Pact can help rescue her.

But only if Hakara goes to war against a god.

Genre:

  • "Stewart's worlds are some of the most exceptionally inventive in modern fantasy. A must read!"
    S.A. Chakraborty, New York Times bestselling author of City of Brass
  • "An unmissable, heart-pounding eco-adventure in a world of raging mortals and warring gods that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of The Stormlight Archives."
    Kritika H. Rao, author of The Surviving Sky
  • Andrea Stewart is a master of building worlds with a burning, beating heart. This first in her new trilogy is an epic and heart-rending struggle between gods and mortals, lovers and siblings as each must pick a side to survive. Each twist of the tale is a twist of the knife, and every turn drags you closer to a bloody and powerful conclusion. As a reader, I found myself leaping from chapter to chapter, breathless and desperate to find out what happens next. Stewart is a writer of genius and brilliance, and I can't wait to see where this trilogy leads.
     
    Hannah Kaner, #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Godkiller
  • "The Gods Below is the best kind of epic fantasy, balancing breathtakingly imaginative worlds with complex, deeply felt characters. This is a story of ancient gods and magical transformations; it's also the story of desperate people fighting for those they love, and undergoing transformations of different kinds. Intricate, propulsive, and beautiful--I loved it."
    H. G. Parry, author of The Magician's Daughter
  • "The Gods Below is a propulsive epic fantasy that holds a blade to your throat and dares you not to breathe. Breathtakingly ambitious and richly realized, it's a complex tale of survivors fighting for freedom and forgiveness in a broken, twisted world -- one where gods are hunted, monsters are real, and magic and secrets glitter like gems beneath the surface. A thrilling, ferocious start to a new trilogy.
    Julie Leong, author of The Teller of Small Fortunes
  • "A sweeping tale of desperation, determination, and unlikely alliances, The Gods Below will entrance fantasy fans. Stewart unfurls a richly complex world with the scope of a master storyteller. Weaving together a vast range of character perspectives, this series-opener brings out the tensions and bonds between people vying for safety and stability – you’ll cheer for friends, rivals, siblings, and colleagues at once. Utterly spellbinding." 
    Elyse John, author of Orphia and Eurydicius
  • "Gripping from the very first page, The Gods Below lures you down into its dark depths with imaginative worldbuilding and an action-filled plot. Alongside richly textured characters, this layered story of carving out personal identity against expectations and loss will stick with you long after you've finished the last page."
    Linden A. Lewis, author of The First Sister
  • "Gripping, beautiful, and full of mystery. This book is not to be missed."
    Cameron Johnston, author of The Last Shield
  • "Dive into a lush world rife with violence and despair. Cheer for its broken occupants who are grabbing onto life and love with horns and claws. Stewart is a master and this fantasy delivers the ultimate rush–hope."
    Julia Vee, author of Ebony Gate
  • Praise for The Drowning Empire: 

    "The Bone Shard Daughter is one of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time. With stunningly intricate world-building that leaps off the page and characters who are so vibrant that you wish they were real, it grabs you by the heart and the throat from the first pages and doesn't let go until long after it's over. This book is truly special." —Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author 

    "The Bone Shard Daughter is epic fantasy at its most human and heartfelt, concerned with the real lives caught in the gears of empire and rebellion. Inventive, adventurous, and wonderfully written." —Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

    "A fascinating world with characters who have deep foundations, and who will quickly capture readers' hearts...Stewart's debut is sharp and compelling. It will hook readers in and make them fiercely anticipate the rest of the series." —Booklist on The Bone Shard Daughter

    "There's a bold, ambitious imagination at work here—and this is a world you'll want to linger in." —M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts, on The Bone Shard Daughter

    "The Bone Shard Daughter begins with a spark of intrigue that ignites into a thrilling adventure you cannot miss-with a unique (and painful!) magic system to boot." —Hafsah Faizal, New York Times bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame

    "The twisting turns of political negotiations, the desperation of each character to do what’s right, and the carefully written world building come together to power this compelling and suspenseful fantasy...Stewart’s elegant planning and unspooling revelations will keep readers hooked from the first page, and fans will be impatient for the next and final volume in the trilogy." —Booklist on The Bone Shard Emperor

On Sale
Sep 3, 2024
Page Count
528 pages
Publisher
Orbit
ISBN-13
9780316564892

Andrea Stewart

Andrea Stewart

About the Author

Andrea Stewart is the daughter of immigrants, and was raised in a number of places across the United States. Her parents always emphasized science and education, so she spent her childhood immersed in Star Trek and odd-smelling library books.

When her (admittedly ambitious) dreams of becoming a dragon slayer didn’t pan out, she instead turned to writing books. She now lives in sunny California, and in addition to writing, can be found herding cats, looking at birds, and falling down research rabbit holes.

Learn more about this author