The Fire Within Them

New Release

Contributors

By Matthew Ward

Formats and Prices

Price

$21.99

Price

$28.99 CAD

The second book in Matthew Ward's action-packed trilogy, the Soulfire Saga, The Fire Within Them is set in a world ruled by an immortal king, where souls fuel magic and a supernatural mist known as the Veil threatens to engulf the land. Perfect for readers of John Gwynne and Anthony Ryan. 

For the first time in a millennium, the kingdom of Khalad is divided. The Battle of Athenoch has fanned the spark of Bashar Vallant’s rebellion to a raging flame. Tyzanta, jewel of the east, has declared for his cause, and other cities have followed. Vallant, the people’s hero, may soon be powerful enough to challenge Caradan Diar, Khalad’s immortal king.
 
But such power demands great personal sacrifice.

Afflicted with omen rot after channeling the Deadwinds to save Athenoch from the koilos army, Kat searches for a means to stop the disease killing her as it did her mother. Her journey will uncover secrets long since buried––secrets concerning her past, her family and the kingdom itself. Eventually she’ll learn that the past never stays buried in Khalad––and that the truth can cut deeper than any blade.

Genre:

  • "Expertly wrought . . . a vigorous, bravura saga."
    Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Legacy of Light
  • "A thoughtful examination of the limits of duty and loyalty... a promising series launch."
    Publishers Weekly on The Darkness Before Them
  • "Full of action, heart, betrayal, and set in a dark, engaging world, this book continues Ward’s ability to deliver doorstopper dark fantasy that you just can’t put down."
    Grimdark Magazine on The Darkness Before Them
  • "The Darkness Before Them brims with magic, monsters and intrigue, and the depth of the world is wonderfully, enthrallingly complex . . . a delight."
    Ben Galley on The Darkness Before Them
  • "Hugely entertaining."
    John Gwynne on Legacy of Ash
  • "Ward sends out the mammoth and extremely rewarding trilogy that began with Legacy of Ash with this expertly wrought epic ... Ward breathes new life into familiar tropes while convincingly maneuvering his huge cast to universally satisfying conclusions. The result is a vigorous, bravura saga." 
    Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Legacy of Light
  • "Expertly interspersing vivid action sequences with quiet, introspective stretches, Ward guides readers and characters alike through this winding, well-crafted saga. The result is an impressive series opener."
    Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Legacy of Ash
  • "Packed with big battles, shadowy intrigue and a large cast of characters, Legacy of Ash is an absorbing debut."
    James Islington on Legacy of Ash
  • "As intricate as a precision-engineered watch; as surprising as a precision-engineered watch with a concealed face-stabbing mechanism."
    Gareth Hanrahan on Legacy of Ash
  • "An incredibly impressive piece of fantasy fiction."
    The Fantasy Inn on Legacy of Ash
  • "This is the first epic fantasy book I've enjoying getting immersed in for ages . . . a great romp in a brilliantly realized setting . . . I have lost sleep, forgotten food and made this the thing what I pick up every moment I can get."
    SFFWorld on Legacy of Ash
  • "A perfect blend of Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire and Bernard Cornwell's The Last Kingdom."
    FanFi Addict on Legacy of Ash

On Sale
Jun 11, 2024
Page Count
592 pages
Publisher
Orbit
ISBN-13
9780316476805

Matthew Ward

Matthew Ward

About the Author

Matthew Ward has frequently been accused of living in worlds of his own imagination, though really he lives near Nottingham with his extremely patient wife and several attention- seeking cats.

Learn more about this author