A Match Made in Mehendi

Contributors

By Nandini Bajpai

Formats and Prices

Price

$14.99

Price

$19.99 CAD

Format:

  1. Trade Paperback $14.99 $19.99 CAD
  2. ebook $9.99 $11.99 CAD
  3. Audiobook Download (Unabridged)

For fans of Brandy Colbert and Jenny Han comes a lighthearted novel about tradition, high school social hierarchy, matchmaking, and swiping right (or left!)

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole – matchmakers – with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.”

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service — via an app.

But when she helps connect a wallflower of a girl with the star of the boys’ soccer team, she turns the high school hierarchy topsy-turvy, soon making herself public enemy number one.

Genre:

  • Praise for A Match Made in Mehendi: "A breezy, high-spirited novel, full of helicopter parents and high school drama, Simi's story subtly updates familiar tropes while questioning teenage social norms."
    Teen Vogue
  • "This sweet contemporary promises to be packed full of family and friendship drama."
    BuzzFeed
  • * "A rousing story that is as enjoyable as it is heartfelt. [Nandini] Bajpai creates a memorable character in Simi, who shines at the center of the matchmaking web as she narrates this winning romance."
    Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • "Simi is confident, principled, and unapologetic, and her voice glitters with optimism and honesty. A sweet and quirky romance told by a protagonist who will steal readers' hearts."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "Fans of Sandhya Menon's When Dimple Met Rishi and Tanuja Desai Hidier's Born Confused will enjoy this feel-good story."
    School Library Journal
  • "Bajpai creates a strong, sympathetic portrayal of Simi and her close-knit Indian American family. Many readers will enjoy this engaging first-person narrative, which ends with a promising romance."
    Booklist

On Sale
Sep 8, 2020
Page Count
320 pages
ISBN-13
9780316522557

About the Author

NOVL - Headshot photo of Nandini Bajpai

Nandini Bajpai grew up in New Delhi, India, before settling in the Boston area with her husband, kids, and a fluctuating number and variety of pets. She has published a YA novel, Red Turban White Horse, with Scholastic India. A Match Made in Mehendi would be her U.S. debut.

Peek the Audiobook

#AMATCHMADEINMEHENDI

Nandini Bajpai

About the Author

Nandini Bajpai grew up in New Delhi, India, before settling in the Boston area with her husband, kids, and a fluctuating number and variety of pets. She is the author of A Match Made in Mehendi and Sister of the Bollywood Bride.

Learn more about this author