That Dark Infinity

Contributors

By Kate Pentecost

Formats and Prices

Price

$10.99

Price

$14.99 CAD

Format

Format:

  1. Trade Paperback $10.99 $14.99 CAD
  2. ebook $10.99 $13.99 CAD
  3. Hardcover $18.99 $23.99 CAD

An immortal monster hunter and a royal handmaiden embark on an epic journey to change their fates in this soul-stirring young adult fantasy novel for fans of The Witcher and The Last Unicorn.

By night, the Ankou is a legendary, permanently young mercenary—the most fearsome sword for hire in all of the Five Lands, and its most abiding mystery. But when the sun rises, a dark magic leaves him no more than bones. Cursed with this cycle of death and resurrection, the Ankou wants only to find the final rest that has been prophesied for him, no matter the cost.

When the kingdom of Kaer-Ise is sacked, Flora, handmaiden to the royal family, is assaulted and left for dead. Wounded, heartbroken, and the sole survivor of the massacre, Flora wants desperately to be reunited with the princess she served and loved. She and the Ankou make a deal: He will help Flora find her princess, and train Flora in combat, in exchange for her aid in breaking his curse. But it isn’t easy to kill an immortal, especially when their bond begins to deepen into something more . . .

Together, they will solve mysteries, battle monsters, and race against time in this fantasy novel about sacrifice, love, and healing by Elysium Girls author Kate Pentecost.

  • Praise for That Dark Infinity:

    “Unique, haunting, magical!”
    Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter
  • "Original and intriguing.... Discussions of trauma, self-worth, and found family add realistic elements to Flora’s fantastical journey.... This dark romp filled with gruesome imagery is a gripping adventure."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "Pentecost (Elysium Girls) crafts a robust world with mythological and Oz-evoking influences.... Pentecost’s absorbing plot moves swiftly."
    Publishers Weekly
  • "The premise of the story is interesting, unique, and will draw fantasy fans into the world.... Action and character-driven dialogue will keep readers interested in what happens in this quest."
    SLC
  • "Pentecost, author of the thrilling Elysium Girls (2020), shows her prowess in her sophomore novel, adeptly telling a tale of unusual circumstances. A must-have for fantasy collections."
    Booklist
  • Praise for Elysium Girls:

    "Pentecost's ambitious Dust Bowl-inspired dystopia pulses with dramatic scenes.... Captivating."Publishers Weekly

    "Readers who enjoy apocalypse-infused danger will enjoy this neo-Westernized dystopian world filled with the good and evil magic of witches and demons, LGBTQ romance, steampunked mechanics, and hero moments."SLJ

    "The dystopian Western setting is enticing, the girl power is undeniable, and this high-concept adventure has all the right ingredients."Booklist

On Sale
Oct 18, 2022
Page Count
384 pages
ISBN-13
9780759555143

About the Author

NOVL - Headshot photo of Kate Pentecost

Kate Pentecost was born and raised on the Texas/Louisiana state line, where there are more churches, pine trees and alligators than anything else. She has worked in teaching, indie publishing, anti-censorship advocacy, and (her favorite) hand-selling children’s books at NYC’s famous Strand Bookstore. She has an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and has studied with Susan Fletcher, Louise Hawes, A.S. King, Micol Ostow, and Nova Ren Suma as well as adult authors such as Ken Liu and Antonya Nelson. Elysium Girls was her debut.

From NOVL Nation

“This story captivates the reader from the first page and keeps a steady and consuming pace throughout, making it highly devourable. The characters really shine in this story, particularly for the obstacles which they must overcome and the way they come into their own.”

—Olivia, @onemused

“Phew. I devoured this book in less than two days and for good reason; it took me completely bur surprise. So rarely do we get a story that reflects the beauty and tragedy of its cover. This fast-paced story is going to take the YA world by storm. Give it all the attention, all the bookstagram features. THIS BOOK!”

—Celia, @celiamcmahonreads

“Damn! This was a work of art!”

—Carla, @___magnus_chase___

#ThatDarkInfinity

Kate Pentecost

About the Author

Kate Pentecost was born and raised on the Texas-Louisiana border, but has lived in many different places. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She currently lives in Houston with her dog, Stevie Nyx, and has plans to build her own black caravan, just for the fun of it. Elysium Girls was her debut young adult fantasy novel.

Learn more about this author