We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Watermelon Seed

Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Alligators & Crocodiles

Date de parution: May 14th 2013

The Watermelon Seed

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.

With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.
Read More

Illinois Monarch Award Masterlist, 2016

Regular Price $17.99

Regular Price $22.99 CAD

Page Count: 40

ISBN-13: 9781423171010

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

* "[A]n expert debut."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
* "Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase."—School Library Journal (starred review)
"A juicy premise...Pizzoli legitimizes childish anxieties but also slyly exaggerates each worry to highlight the humor."—The New York Times
"With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."—Booklist
"The illustrations...recall the cheerful stylings of Ed Emberely and Roger Hargreaves. Deliciously bright colors...leap from the page."—Kirkus Reviews
"With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."—Booklist Online
Read More Read Less